Sew

Lessons learned

“Measure twice, cut once.”  This saying is most often used in the construction business, but I’m finding it a handy piece of advice when sewing as well.  I finally finished my pink table runner – and built up quite a list of lessons learned in the process of making it!   Here are a few of the big ones:

Be consistent with seam sizes.  Wow, is it ever hard to match up triangles and squares when they’re different sizes.

Those pins in the cute little pin cushions are actually quite useful.  I should use them a LOT more.  It’s amazing how much fabric shifts when a person is only holding it together with her fingers.  *sigh*

Binding is not for the ill-prepared.  It’s worth the time and effort to do some research or take a class on the process.  And it will save a lot of headaches!

Even though this pink little beauty gave me some trouble, I had a great time working on it!  I really learned a lot and can’t wait to try something new.  I think the funniest part of the whole project was when I showed it to my husband and boys this evening.  All three of them tilted their heads in the same direction (remember the earlier lesson I learned about consistent seams?  Yeah… makes the runner curve a bit…) and smiled politely.  “Looks beautiful!” they cheered together.

Gotta love my boys.  😉

10 thoughts on “Lessons learned”

  1. Your boys are right – it does look beautiful! Thank you for sharing your lessons. I love learning lessons from others’ mistakes… goodness knows I learn enough from my own, hehe 🙂

  2. Bonnie, My best advice: No one will notice your mistakes if you don’t point them out. Every quilt is practice for the next one. If you love it, that is all that is important! Keep up the good work. Lora

  3. It turned out so nice! 🙂

    I also learned the hard way that using pins is an absolute must. It really does make sewing a lot easier, even though it takes so much time to put them in and take them out. Totally worth it!

  4. I’m sure I’ve got a charm pack of this fabric squirrelled away somewhere. The colours remind me of sherbet sweets. Your runner is beautiful. Love the colours and the pattern 🙂 Avis x

    1. Thank you! The fabric is perfect for summer, isn’t it? You should pull yours out and make something with it now that the summer’s on its way! 🙂

Leave a Reply

